HB 956

## **SUBCOMMITTEE**

## 1. After line 323, introduced

insert

2. That the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission shall revise all labels on Sentencing Guidelines worksheets and instructions in the Sentencing Guidelines Manual so that any conviction for an offense defined as a Class 1 misdemeanor or any other misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of 364 days of incarceration, as provided by the provisions of this act, shall be scored as if the maximum penalty were 12 months for the purposes of preparing and using the discretionary sentencing guidelines pursuant to § 19.2-298.01 of the Code of Virginia. But the Commission shall not modify any scores assigned on the worksheets without following the process prescribed in § 17.1-806 of the Code of Virginia.